Skip to content

Green Eggs and Ham

March 4, 2014

I told a coworker the other day that Claire read the entire Green Eggs and Ham book by Dr Seuss. I said we were impressed and praised her accordingly. We got into a discussion about our generation (Y, millennial) and how as kids we were always given participation awards. This led to the sense of entitlement attributed to our generation. I inferred that because we were raised that way we will also raise our kids that way and I think that’s a good thing. I mentioned that one of the best gifts I can give my kids is unconditional love and support. If they know above all else that their parents are proud of them they will have the courage to do great things.

I got a lot of inspiration from a particular post on the Single Dad Laughing blog. Dan Pearce says in his post “You Just Broke Your Child. Congratulations.” several things that I wholeheartedly agree with. They are worth mentioning. In fact, the entire article is worth reading, monthly.

1. “I get the power a dad has in a child’s life, and in a child’s level of self-belief. I get that everything I ever do and ever say to my son will be absorbed, for good or for bad.”

2. “a child’s entire sense of value can revolve around what they see in your face when you first see them”

3. “…a child is what you tell them they are.”

4. “Everything you say or don’t say will impact their ability, success, and happiness throughout their entire lives.”

The whole article reinforced my method of parenting. Continually offer love and praise. Rarely show anger and never yell. Smile, be thankful, and love every time you see them. Let them play on their own. Get on the floor and play with them. Be interested in many things so they are interested in many things. Be happy and kind to everyone. Say please and thank you.

We often get wrapped up in work, chores, dinner, etc. and forgot how good our lives are and how lucky we are to have such great kids.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

