Skip to content

Removing Wasted Time

September 5, 2013

With the beginning of Kindergarten for Claire on September 3rd I made a change myself. I stopped playing mindless video games. These are the games that don’t have an ending. The ones you check on throughout the day and play whenever you have five minutes to spare. The problem is that time adds up. Even a few minutes in the morning and a few in the evening make a difference. I can spend that time in a hundred more productive ways, so I quit cold turkey. The thought of quitting them first came up in church. It was during the topic of idolatry. While I don’t think it was that bad it got me thinking. Did these games control me? Was I checking in on them because they were waiting for me? I didn’t like that feeling. I want to be in control of my time. Also, habits is what make you, good or bad. I want to build myself with good habits and video games like that are not on my way to a happy life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 5, 2013 5:54 pm

    For a moment, I thought you were calling *all* video games mindless, and I was about to get defensive. 😛 But for that particular kind you mention, I understand what you mean. I don’t really play those anyway, but I’ve had a similar realization when it comes to the urge to complete *everything* in a game. Even for games I love, there comes a point when this starts to feel like a chore, and I have to ask myself why I’m doing this when I could be having more fun with other things.

Leave a Reply

