Skip to content

A couple new books

July 28, 2011

I had a gift card for Barnes & Noble left over from my birthday in May. I went to B&N soon after my birthday but couldn’t decide on any books. I really wanted Modern Homestead by Renee Wilkinson but knew she was doing a book signing in St. Johns. I wanted a signed copy so I held off on that book. I checked out a books including The Age of Wonder by Richard Holmes, which I had heard about on the RadioLab podcast. I also looked at Plan B 2.0 by Lester Brown, a book about new energy sources. Well, I went back to B&N last week and after much searching decided on 2 books. They both fit into my recent “going green” kick. The first is The Quarter Acre Farm by Spring Warren, a book about growing enough food to live on with just a small backyard garden. It is a story setting with many tips and experiences. I have learned alot and am inspired to make my own garden bigger and better next year. I would love to have the fruit trees she has in her backyard. The other book I picked out is The Everything Guide to Living off the Grid by Terri Reid. The title really says it all and is useful for people that want to make small changes all the way up to completely off the grid. I am sure I will find many great ideas in this book.

This term I am taking my first sustainability class as part of my MBA at Marylhurst. It is called Resource Economics and I am enjoying the class. Just the other day my professor pointed me toward Governing the Commons by Nobel Prize winner Elinor Ostrom. Now that book is on my list too.

Do you have any book suggestions that go along with sustainability, gardening, or living green? I would love to hear about good books you recommend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

